Faculty Research Lecture Award Basic Science - Past Recipients

Year Recipient Year Recipient Year Recipient
2015-2016 David O. Morgan, PhD 1995/1996 Irwin D. Kuntz 1975/1976 Manual F. Morales
2014-2015 Susan J. Fisher 1994/1995 Lily Yeh Jan and Yuh Nung Jan 1974/1975 John C. Craig
2013-2014 Jonathan Weissman 1993/1994 Charles J. Epstein 1973/1974 E. Leong Way
2012-2013 John Rubenstein 1992/1993 Carroll L. Estes 1972/1973 Gordon M. Tomkins
2011-2012 Ying-Hui Fu & Louis J. Ptáček 1991/1992 Julien I. E. Hoffman 1971/1972 Rudi Schmid
2010-2011 Lewis L. Lanier 1990/1991 Henry R. Bourne 1970/1971 John A. Clements
2009/2010 Ken A. Dill 1989/1990 Stanley B. Prusiner 1969/1970 Kenneth T. Brown
2008/2009 Elizabeth H. Blackburn 1988/1989 Ira Herskowitz 1968/1969 Richard J. Havel
2007-2008 Gail R. Martin 1987/1988 Michael M. Merzenich 1967/1968 William F. Ganong
2006/2007 Peter Walter 1986/1987 Anselm Strauss 1966/1967 Isadore S. Edelman
2005/2006 2David Julius 1985/1986 Bruce M. Alberts 1965/1966 Paul M. Aggeler
2004/2005 Shaun Coughlin 1984/1985 Harold E. Varmus 1964/1965 Julius H. Comroe, Jr.
2003/2004 James Cleaver 1983/1984 Y. W. Kan 1963/1964 William R. Lyons
2002/2003 Ronald D. Vale 1982/1983 Paul Ekman 1962/1963 Choh Hao Li
2001/2002 Jay A. Levy 1981/1982 William J. Rutter 1961/1962 David M. Greenberg
2000/2001 Zena Werb 1980/1981 John Severinghaus 1960/1961 Warren D. Kumler
1999/2000 Donald E. Ganem 1979/1980 M. Margaret Clark 1959/1960 Herbert M. Evans
1998/1999 Roger A. Nicoll 1978/1979 J. Michael Bishop 1958/1959 Karl F. Meyer
1997/1998 Arthur Weiss 1977/1978 Abraham Rudolph 1957/1958 I. Lyon Chaikoff
1996/1997 Keith Yamamoto 1976/1977 Walther Stoeckenius    


History of the Faculty Research Lecture

Early in 1957 the Coordinating Committee and the Research Committee of the San Francisco Division of the Academic Senate took note of the fact that other campuses for some years had included, as part of the Charter Day activities, a lecture by a distinguished member of the faculty.  To extend this procedure to the UCSF campus, Professor Melvin Calvin was invited to deliver a lecture in Toland Hall on the Friday night of Charter Week.  This lecture, which dealt with the topic of photosynthesis, was delivered on March 29, 1957.  Stimulated by the success of this experience, the Committees proposed that the Research Committee

Shall from time to time select for confirmation by the San Francisco
Division a member of that Division who has made a distinguished
record in research, to deliver a lecture upon such topic as he/she may
see fit.  The confirmee is to be designated Faculty Research Lecturer
for the San Francisco Division.

The Committee agreed that it would follow the pattern of the Berkeley Division of keeping the nomination confidential, and that the lecture would be given some time during charter Week.

Originally, an ad hoc committee was appointed to nominate the first Faculty Research Lecturer.  In 1960 the Committee on Research decided to take on this duty itself, until there were enough former Lecturers to set up a small ad hoc committee to assume the responsibility.  In 1961 the Research Committee chair received a letter from a Senate member recommending another member of the faculty for the honor.  This led the Committee on Research to agree to solicit recommendations from department chairs and directors of institutes "in order to avoid the possibility of overlooking any deserving individual."  Such letters would be marked, and considered confidential.  For a few years the Committee kept the nominations on file for consideration the following year.  In 1966 the Committee on Research decided to solicit new nominations each year from the deans, department chairs, directors of institutes, and members of the Senate.

Academic Senate Posters
All Awards