Home > Awards > Distinction in Teaching Awards 2013 Recipients

Announcing The 2013 Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the 2013 recipients of both its Distinction in Mentoring and Distinction in Teaching Awards.  A reception honoring these recipients will be held Thursday, April 11, 2013 in the afternoon in the Lange Room of the UCSF Library (Parnassus).

Selected through a peer-reviewed process, these recipients represent faculty who have demonstrated, over the course of their career, a dedication and skill level at with mentoring and teaching which UCSF colleagues, students, postdocs and staff believe should be recognized. 

To select these recipients, the Academic Senate designates a selection committee comprised of faculty

(Distinction in Mentoring) and separately, faculty and students (Distinction in Teaching), from all four schools.

Dr. Thuan Le, DDS, PhD
For 2013, the Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award for faculty at UCSF five years or fewer goes to Dr. Thuan Le, DDS, PhD, Assistant Professor, Orofacial Sciences/Pediatric Dentistry. 

Dr. Le’s research interest is to investigate the structures and functions of enamel extracellular matrix proteins in tooth formation, with particular emphasis on alternatively spliced amelogenins. Mutations in these enamel matrix proteins result in inherited enamel defects, called amelogenesis imperfecta. However, much is still unknown about the roles of these enamel proteins in amelogenesis. His second clinical research project is to study the effect of low level laser therapy (IR range) on dental pulp cells that promote cell proliferation and differentiation, suggesting its important role in wound healing.

Dr. Sharad Jain, MD
The 2013 Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award for faculty at UCSF five years or more goes to Dr. Sharad Jain, MD, Professor of Clinical Medicine, Department of Medicine, SFGH

A UCSF medical school and residency alumnus, Dr. Jain joined the UCSF faculty in 1997.  He currently serves as the track director for the UCSF/San Francisco General Primary Care Medicine program, a track designed to train residents who choose to be leaders in the care of the underserved. Dr. Jain has dedicated his career to healthcare for the underserved and works tirelessly to teach others about health care disparities. He is the director of Health Equity: Academics and Advocacy Training (HEAAT) Program Area of Distinction. He currently serves as an Advisory College Mentor in the School of Medicine and is the faculty advisor for the UCSF Student Homeless Clinic, MedLink, and Remedy.  He is a member of the Academy of Medical Educators and was the recipient of the American Association of Medical Colleges Humanism in Medicine Award in 2004.  He joined the UCSF faculty in 1997 and has been based at San Francisco General Hospital since 2007.

Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards Ceremony

Recipients of the Academic Senate Distinction In Teaching Awards and the Distinction In Mentoring Awards will be honored in the afternoon of Thursday, April 11, 2013 in the Lange Room of the UCSF Library (Parnassus Campus).

A YouTube video of the event can be viewed by clicking here. The first part is an introduction of the Academic Senate's Faculty Awards by the Chancellor's office (0:01-1:26), the second part is Pat Fox's introduction and the four Distinguished Faculty Award presentations (1:27-20:00).


Last Webpage Update: 5/8/14

University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94143, (415) 476-9000
The Regents of the University of California