Home > Awards > Distinction in Mentoring Awards 2013 Recipients

Announcing The 2013 Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the 2013 recipients of both its Distinction in Mentoring and Distinction in Teaching Awards.  A reception honoring these recipients will be held Thursday, April 11, 2013 in the afternoon in the Lange Room of the UCSF Library (Parnassus).

Selected through a peer-reviewed process, these recipients represent faculty who have demonstrated, over the course of their career, a dedication and skill level at with mentoring and teaching which UCSF colleagues, students, postdocs and staff believe should be recognized. 

To select these recipients, the Academic Senate designates a selection committee comprised of faculty (Distinction in Mentoring) and separately, faculty and students (Distinction Teaching), from all four schools.

Shari L. Dworkin, PhD, MS
The 2013 recipient of the Academic Senate Distinction in Mentoring Award for the Associate Professor level has been given to Shari L. Dworkin, PhD, MS, Associate Professor, Social and Behavioral Sciences. 

Dr. Dworkin currently serves as Vice Chair of the Department of Social and Behavior Sciences in the School of Nursing and is the Director of the Doctoral Studies Program in Sociology.  She is part of the Affiliated Faculty for the Center for AIDS Prevention Studies (CAPS) and Global Health Sciences Master's Program. Her main area of research emphasis is HIV/AIDS prevention and gender relations.  She has a special interest in structural interventions, particularly those at the intersection of economic empowerment programs and HIV/AIDS prevention.  Much of her research involves integrating microfinance and/or property rights into HIV/AIDS prevention efforts globally.  She also works on "gender-transformative" interventions with heterosexually active men to reduce violence and HIV/AIDS risks.

R. Adams Dudley, MD, MBA
The 2013 recipient Distinction in Mentoring Award at the Full Professor level has been given to R. Adams Dudley, MD, MBA, Professor In Residence, Medicine, Epidemiology & Biostatistics.

Dr. Dudley is Associate Director for Research at UCSF’s Philip R. Lee Institute for Health Policy Studies. In 2005, he became the first UCSF physician to receive the prestigious Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Investigator Award in Health Policy. He has been elected to the American Society for Clinical Investigation. His major research interests include developing measures of quality, appropriateness, and efficiency of care; assessing the impact of strategies intended to improve performance (including payment reform, pay-for-performance, public reporting, and incentives for consumers); and financial risk adjustment (adjusting premiums and capitation rates to reflect the severity of illness of enrollees).

Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards Ceremony

Recipients of the Academic Senate Distinction In Teaching Awards and the Distinction In Mentoring Awards will be honored in the afternoon of Thursday, April 11, 2013 in the Lange Room of the UCSF Library (Parnassus Campus).

A YouTube video of the event can be viewed by clicking here. The first part is an introduction of the Academic Senate's Faculty Awards by the Chancellor's office (0:01-1:26), the second part is Pat Fox's introduction and the four Distinguished Faculty Award presentations (1:27-20:00).


Last Webpage Update: 5/8/14

University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94143, (415) 476-9000
The Regents of the University of California