11th Annual Faculty Research Lecture in Translational Science
Awarded to Diane Barber, PhD

Lecture Title: A Road Less Traveled: The pHascinating and pHulpHilling Journey with pH
Date/Location: Tuesday, May 10, 2022 at 3:30 -5:00 pm in Byer’s Auditorium and Zoom
Zoom: http://tiny.ucsf.edu/frlts22zoom • Passcode: 231790
UCSF Events Calendar:

11th Faculty Research Lecture Translational Science Poster
               Event Poster
Diane Barber, PhD
              Diane Barber, PhD

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the selection of Diane Barber, PhD as recipient of the Eleventh Annual Faculty Research Lectureship in Translational Science for her contributions to cell biology. The lecture, titled “A Road Less Traveled: The pHascinating and pHulpHilling Journey with pH”, will take place on Tuesday, May 10, 2022, at 3:30 p.m. at Byers Auditorium with limited capacity and broadcast on Zoom.

Dr. Barber’s nomination celebrates her pioneering research on identifying the importance of intracellular pH dynamics in normal and pathological cell behaviors. She is a trailblazer in establishing an entire field of study. Specifically, in the 30 years since she started her lab at UCSF, her work developed the idea that intracellular pH is not static and a passive consequence of cell functions but, instead, is dynamic and an actively-maintained layer of regulation that influences a wide range of cell behaviors. Her work pioneered research into a subject area that has far-reaching implications for many different fields in biology.

In addition to making ground-breaking discoveries, Dr. Barber is a very successful mentor of junior, mid-level and senior faculty, as well as to each of her PhD students, postdoctoral fellows and research technicians. Of the 30 postdocs she mentored over the last 30 years, 18 have gone on to lead their own laboratories at institutions around the United States and the world. She is often found on the microscope, visualizing her own work or helping her trainees visualize theirs. This 1:1 behavior at the bench despite the large amount of “paper work” that professors at her level have, shows her dedication to her trainees careers, their confidence in themselves, and their science.

Dr. Barber is an Endowed Professor and Chair of the UCSF School of Dentistry’s Department of Cell and Tissue Biology. She completed her undergraduate degree along with her MS degree at the Univeristy of California, Davis, and her PhD at the University of California, Los Angeles. She was a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Massachusetts Medical Center for two years and then an Assistant Professor at Yale University for four years. Longing to return to California and the Pacific Ocean, she joined the UCSF Faculty in 1992.

Dr. Barber has been recognized with many prestigious awards and lecture invitations. She has been a plenary speaker at multiple international meetings and was Chair of the Women in Cell Biology (WICB) Committee for the American Society of Cell Biology. Her mentoring was recognized by receiving the Outstanding Faculty Mentoring Award from the UCSF Postdoctoral Fellows Association in 2012 and the Excellence in Research and Mentoring Award from the John Greene Society of School of Dentistry Students in 2020. She was a recipient of the UCSF School of Dentistry’s Faculty Research Lecturer Award in 2013 and is an elected fellow to the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

The Eleventh Annual Faculty Research Lecture in Translational Science will be held on Tuesday, May 10, 2022, at 3:30 p.m. at Byer’s Auditorium with limited capacity and broadcast on Zoom.

This award is bestowed on an individual member of the UCSF faculty with outstanding achievements in Translational Science. Nominations are made by UCSF faculty, who consider the clinical research contributions of their colleagues and submit nominations for this prestigious award to the Academic Senate Committee on Research. Each year, the Committee on Research selects the recipient of this award.


Faculty Research Lecture - Translational Science Past Recipients
All Academic Senate Awards
Academic Senate Posters