2020-2021 Academic Senate Distinguished Faculty Awards

The UCSF Academic Senate is happy to announce the faculty selected by peers as the 2021 Distinction Teaching and Distinction in Mentoring Award winners. An event to recognize their efforts will be held by Zoom Webinar on Tuesday, May 25, 2021, 10:00 - 12:00 pm.

2020-2021 Distinguished Faculty Awards Recipients

2020-2021 Distinguished Faculty Awards PosterFor Spring 2021, the Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award for faculty at UCSF five years or fewer goes to Andrew D. Penn, RN, MS, CNS, NP, Health Sciences Associate Clinical Professor, Department of Community Health Systems, School of Nursing. Mr. Penn is based at the VAMC San Francisco.

The Spring 2021 Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award for faculty at UCSF more than five years goes to Vanja Douglas, MD, Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology, Department of Neurology, School of Medicine. Dr. Douglas is based at UCSF Parnassus campus, and is Chief of the Neurohospitalist Division, and Associate Director of the Adult Neurology Residency Training Program.

The Spring 2021 recipient of the Academic Senate Distinction In Mentoring Award for faculty at the rank of full Professor is Julene Johnson, PhD, Professor, Institute for Health & Aging, School of Nursing. She also serves as the Associate Dean for Research in Nursing. In the School of Medicine, Dr. Johnson serves as a faculty mentor in the UCSF Center for Aging in Diverse Communities.

Despite extending the call for nominations, the UCSF Academic Senate received no nominations for the Distinction of Mentoring Award in the Associate Professor category. We expect this is an exception due to the worldwide pandemic. The Senate will be conducting additional outreach next fall 2021, to insure we receive applicants in this category.

To select each year’s awards the Academic Senate Committee on Academic Personnel designates selection committees comprised of faculty and student representatives from all four schools. Student representatives are recommended by the Associate Deans in Student Affairs from each of the respective Schools. Faculty representatives are recommended by the Associate Deans of Academic Affairs from each School.

Distinction in Teaching Past Recipients
Distinction in Mentoring Past Recipients
Distinguished Faculty Awards Call for Nominations
All Academic Senate Awards
Academic Senate Posters