2003-2004 Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Awards

Distinction In Teaching Awarded to Douglas R. Fredrick, MD, Betty-ann Hoener, PhD & Kanu Chatterjee, MB, FRCP, FACC, FCCP, MACP

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce this year’s recipients of the Distinction In Teaching Awards.

2003-2004 Distinguished Faculty Awards Recipients

Recipients of the Academic Senate Distinction In Teaching Awards will be honored at the Academic Senate Distinction In Teaching Awards Ceremony to be held Thursday, April 29, 2004 at 12 noon in Cole Hall.

Distinction in Teaching

Category 1 (UCSF Faculty Less Than 5 Years): The 2004 Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award for faculty at UCSF five years or fewer goes to Douglas R. Fredrick, MD, Associate Clinical Professor in the Department of Ophthalmology.

Douglas R. Fredrick, MD
Dr. Fredrick first came to UCSF in 1992 and rejoined the faculty in 2002 because of his strong commitment to teaching. He is an Associate Clinical Professor, Residency Director in the Department of Ophthalmology, and Director of Pediatric Ophthalmology at both UCSF and San Francisco General Hospital. The focus of Dr. Fredrick’s research is on improving the care of pediatric ocular diseases through investigations into myopia epidemiology, congenital ocular anomalies, vision development in premature infants, and early treatment of retinopathy of prematurity.

Dr. Fredrick is the only department member to twice receive the Excellence in Teaching Award from residents in both 1996 and 2003. He is also an advisor to the Blind Babies Foundation and Prevent Blindness, Northern California, and regularly volunteers for Project Orbis International—the world’s only flying eye hospital where volunteers supply training and education to local health professionals while treating patients in developing nations. Dr. Fredrick is the Chair of the American Association of Pediatric Ophthalmology and Strabismus Professional Education Committee and has taught an instruction course the past four years at the annual meeting of the American Academy of Ophthalmology, in which he is a Fellow.

Category 2 (UCSF Faculty More Than 5 Years): The 2004 Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Award for faculty at UCSF more than five years goes to Betty-ann Hoener, PhD, Professor and Vice Chair in the Department of Biopharmaceutical Sciences, and Kanu Chatterjee, MB, FRCP, FACC, FCCP, MACP, Professor, Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology and the Ernest Gallo Distinguished Professor of Medicine.

Betty-ann Hoener, PhD
Professor Betty-ann Hoener, Vice Chair of the Biopharmaceutical Sciences Department, has been a vital part of UCSF for 30 years. She is also the first UCSF faculty member to receive the Distinction in Teaching Award for a second time, having won in 1979 when she was a junior Professor. Dr. Hoener is the recipient of a record number of teaching awards for the School of Pharmacy, and enjoys national recognition for her innovative and interactive teaching methods. For example, in 2003 Dr. Hoener presented a workshop to the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy on Handling Large Classes that was well attended and highly evaluated.

Dr. Hoener is a teacher of scientists, as well. Each year, Dr. Hoener directs and coordinates Pharmacokinetics for Pharmaceutical Scientists, a major one-week course in which she is considered one of the best lecturers. Hoener’s own research focuses on developing in vitro-in vivo correlations in order to model the transport and metabolism of drugs. These models are used to select drug candidates with clinically usable pharmacokinetic profiles and to predict potential drug interactions, thereby reducing the “loss” of drug candidates during pre-clinical or Phase I clinical trials due to inadequate pharmacokinetic profiles. More than anything, Dr. Hoener is known for her commitment to teaching students.

Kanu Chatterjee, MB, FRCP, FACC, FCCP, MACP
Dr. Kanu Chatterjee is a Professor of Medicine in the Department of Medicine, Division of Cardiology, and Director of the Chatterjee Center for Cardiac Research. Dr. Chatterjee is also the Ernest Gallo Distinguished Professor of Medicine, was the Lucie Stern Professor of Cardiology (until 2002), and, in 1990 received the prestigious “Gifted Teacher Award” from the American College of Cardiology.

Dr. Chatterjee joined the faculty of UCSF in 1975 and has spent the last three decades educating generations of cardiologists, whose appreciation and respect has led several to create an international Dr. Chatterjee society. As a “master of the cardiovascular exam,” Dr. Chatterjee uses bedside rounds to teach students, staff, and patients alike. Dr. Chatterjee has won numerous teaching awards, including the Kaiser Award for Teaching (1977), Excellence in Teaching Award (1995), Outstanding Teacher, Class of 1990 and 1991, the first Melvin D. Marcus Memorial Gifted Teacher Award from the International Society of Heart Failure (1995), the first Floyd C. Rector Award for Excellence in Teaching (1996) and the Gifted Teacher Award from the American College of Cardiology (1990).

Although Dr. Chatterjee is best known as an educator and practitioner, he has made a tremendous contribution to the study of cardiology with more than 300 publications and 95 book chapters. Dr. Chatterjee’s research focuses on systemic and coronary hemodynamics in patients with acute heart failure, valvular heart disease, and chronic heart failure. Dr. Chatterjee was the first doctor to report post pacing T-wave changes that have subsequently been described as “Cardiac Memory,” and was first to report the relationship between endocardial potentials and ventricular volumes. He was also first to report the beneficial effects of vasodilators in mitral regurgitation.

Date/Location: Thursday, April 29, 2004 at 12 noon in Cole Hall.
Award recipients will be honored by the Chancellor at the Founder’s Day Banquet on Tuesday, April 27, 2004 at the St. Francis Hotel in San Francisco

To select each year’s recipients the Academic Senate Committee on Academic Personnel designates a selection committee comprised of faculty and student representatives from all four schools. Student representatives are assigned by Associate Deans from each of the respective Schools. This award honors teaching efforts with both students and residents.


Distinction in Teaching Past Recipients
Distinction in Mentoring Past Recipients
All Academic Senate Awards
Academic Senate Posters