16th Annual Faculty Research Lecture in Clinical Science
Awarded to Steve Morin, PhD

Event Poster

The University of California San Francisco Academic Senate is pleased to announce the selection of Steve Morin, PhD as recipient of the Sixteenth Annual Faculty Research Lectureship – Clinical Science for his outstanding body of scientific work and leadership in HIV prevention and AIDS policy research. The lecture titled “Responding to the Challenges of the HIV/AIDS Epidemic: AIDS Policy Research” will take place on Thursday, November 10, 2016 at 3:30 p.m. in Byers Auditorium, Genentech Hall, Mission Bay Campus. The event will be simulcast and a reception will follow.

Lecture Title: Responding to the Challenges of the HIV/AIDS Epidemic: AIDS Policy Research
Date/Location: Thursday, November 10, 2016 at 3:30 p.m. in Byers Auditorium, Genentech Hall, Mission Bay Campus
Live Simulcast: Link will be posted on the day of the event at senate.ucsf.edu

One of the world’s leaders in HIV prevention, at the time Dr. Morin began his tenure at UCSF in 1984 the HIV/AIDS epidemic was burgeoning. His work has been organized around HIV prevention and policy addressing timely and relevant questions generated by government and nonprofit agencies.

Working with the HIV Prevention Trials Network Community Working Group, Dr. Morin investigated the process of community participation in HIV prevention research. His work resulted in the use of principles of community participation in the planning and design of community level intervention to reduce HIV transmission. Dr. Morin served as Principal Investigator for the Zimbabwe site of a multi-site clinical trial and coordinated the intervention across all five sites in Zimbabwe, South Africa, Tanzania, and Thailand.

Dean Sheppard, MD
                 Steve Morin, PhD

Dr. Morin has brought significant intellectual rigor to disseminating science to policy makers and maximizing the legislative impact of research findings. Recent and ongoing projects for the state of California involve evaluating the state’s HIV surveillance system, evaluating potential cost savings in purchasing arrangements for the state’s AIDS Drug Assistance Program, modeling the impact of reauthorization of the Ryan White Program in California, and evaluating the content and outcomes of state funded local HIV prevention grants.

Dr. Morin spent more than a decade working in the US House of Representatives, both as Principal Legislative Assistant to Representative Nancy Pelosi and as Associate Staff to the Committee on Appropriations. During that time he was instrumental in writing multiple pieces of legislation that resulted in key programs for people living with HIV including the AIDS Health Care Financing Act of 1988, which became a central part of Title I of the Ryan White CARE Act of 1990, and the Comprehensive HIV Prevention Act of 1993, which established a process for HIV prevention community planning.

Dr. Morin served as the Director of the Center for Prevention Studies for 10 years. Under his leadership the center developed an extensive focus on HIV policy research and work with local, state, federal, and global agencies conducing seminal policy research. Over the course of his tenure as director, over 200 investigators have received training and gone on to remarkable careers in academia and leadership positions in public and government agencies domestically and internationally.

Dr. Morin is an Emeritus Professor in the Department Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco. He received his PhD from the Ohio State University in 1971.

The Sixteenth Annual Faculty Research Lecture – Clinical Science will be held in Byers Auditorium, Genentech Hall, at the Mission Bay Campus on Thursday, November 10, 2016, at 3:30 p.m. and will be simulcast to other UCSF sites as availability permits. Refreshments will be provided. The lecture is open to the campus community and the general public.

Since 2001, this award has been bestowed on an individual member of the UCSF faculty with outstanding achievements in clinical research. Nominations are made by UCSF faculty, who consider the clinical research contributions of their colleagues and submit nominations for this prestigious award to the Academic Senate Committee on Research. Each year, the Committee on Research selects the recipient of this award.


Faculty Research Lecture - Clinical Science Past Recipients
All Academic Senate Awards
Academic Senate Posters