Committees/Faculty Councils Course Actions Faculty Handbook Funding Awards Leadership Resources Sitemap
Chair of the Academic Senate
Farid Chehab, PhD
Office of the Academic Senate
500 Parnassus Avenue
Room MUE-230
San Francisco, CA 94143
Tel: (415) 476-1308
Email the Academic Senate

Gold Certified UCSF Living Green Office 2014


Latest University of California News
Stay current on the latest UC Systewmide Academic Senate news via the Senate Source newsletter.

UCSF Academic Senate Division Meeting
The Spring 2014 meeting of the UCSF Division of the Academic Senate will be held Monday, June 2, 2014, from 2:00 PM to 4:00 PM, in Room C-701, Parnassus Campus. A formal notice of the Division Meeting (with links to agenda and attachments) is located here.

The meeting will be streamed live for those of you outside of Parnassus and unable to attend in person due to other commitments. Please check back here on the day of the event for a link to the simulcast.

In addition to a general “State of the Campus” update, we will also hear updates on ongoing matters from Chairs of respective Academic Senate Standing Committees and beyond, including:

  • Faculty Association Report on Results of OE Survey
  • Gift and Endowment Tax Proposed Changes
  • Results of the Climate Survey
  • Senate Bylaw 55
  • Space Governance Policies & Procedures
Division Meeting - June 2, 2014 2:00-4:00 pm

Announcing the 4th Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecture in Translational Science
The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the selection of Deborah Greenspan, BDS, DSc, ScD, FDSRCS (Ed), DDS, Chair, Orofacial Sciences and Distinguished Professor, Oral Medicine, and John Greenspan, PhD, BSc, BDS, FRCPath, ScD, FDSRCS (Eng), FKC, Distinguished Professor Oral Pathology and Associate Dean, Global Oral Health, as the joint recipients of the fourth annual Faculty Research Lecture in Translational Science.

Together Drs. Greenspan have consistently made valuable contributions to oral science, infectious disease and cancer using cutting-edge approaches. They made seminal and pioneering discoveries early in the AIDS epidemic, and throughout the rest of their careers, have steadily built upon those important initial findings. Separately, the Greenspans have promoted and contributed key research to Sjögren’s syndrome, an autoimmune disease with prominent oral manifestations. Their lecture title is: “We Did It With A Little Help From Our Friends”.

The Academic Senate Faculty Research Lecture will be held in Cole Hall at the Parnassus Campus on Thursday, May 29, 2014, at 3:30 p.m. The event will also be live simulcast for viewing from your office or computer either the day of the event—or upwards of a year afterwards. Please check back here on the day of the event for a link to the simulcast.

The 4th Annual Faculty Research Lecture - Translational Science
Live Simulcast:

UCSF Academic Senate’s 2014 Distinguished Faculty Awards
The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the 2014 recipients of both its Distinction in Mentoring and Distinction in Teaching Awards. A reception honoring these recipients will be held Wednesday, April 23, 2014 in the afternoon in the Lange Room of the UCSF Library (Parnassus).

Honorees for Distinction in Mentoring are:
Michael Steinman, MD, Associate Professor in Residence, Division of Geriatrics, Department of Medicine
Craig R. Cohen, MD, MPH, Professor In Residence, Obstetrics, Gynecology, & Reproductive Sciences.

Honorees for Distinction in Teaching are:
Erick Hung, MD, Assistant Professor, Clinical Psychiatry
Alan Gelb, MD, Clinical Professor of Emergency Medicine, Department of Emergency Medicine, SFGH.

Vote on the Proposed UCSF Masters of Science in Health Policy and Law Program - March 2014
UCSF faculty vote ending on March 14, 2014: Approve the creation of the proposed Masters of Science in Health Policy and Law program at UCSF.

229 votes
8 votes
4 votes

The UCSF School of Medicine and the UC Hastings College of Law have proposed a new Masters of Science degree in Health Policy and Law (HPL). The HPL seeks to advance health by preparing learners to develop evidence-based policy and law. Its interdisciplinary curriculum provides necessary skills to interpret health-related research and translate it into effective policies, regulation, and legislation. The HPL will be a one-year, self-supporting degree jointly conferred by UCSF and UC Hastings. All learners will participate in a longitudinal core curriculum and then pursue one of two specialty tracks – in health policy research (concentrated at UCSF) or in health law (concentrated at UC Hastings).
View the full program proposal here (secure sign on to UCSF BOX required to view documents).

UCSF Academic Senate Division Meeting
The UCSF Academic Senate Division meeting was held on February 24, including a discussion about UCSF’s leadership transition with Chancellor Susan Desmond-Hellmann and School of Medicine Dean Sam Hawgood.
Video Link (available through January 2015):
Additional information available here.

Workspace Planning at UCSF
Please find below links to additional workspace planning articles, including a new article titled, “Surprising Office Politics at UCSF Mission Bay: Why does it cost too much to build offices for medical faculty in Mission Hall?” (Updated 11/25) by Chris Newfield

UCSF faculty members are concerned about the plans for an activity-based workplace in new and remodeled space at Mission Bay and Parnassus. For more information and to add your name and/or comments, click here.

Faculty Workspace Task Force Recommendations presented at the May 13, 2013 Division Meeting.

Appendix D - portfolio of workspace articles.



September 15, 2014
September 16, 2014
September 17, 2014
10:00 - 12:00 pm, CL-221 & 222
Educational Policy
10:30 - 12:00 pm, U-506
Privilege and Tenure
4:00 - 6:00 pm, U-506
September 18, 2014
September 19, 2014
No Meetings
Academic Freedom
3:00 - 5:00 pm, U-506
Last Webpage Update: 9/12/14

If you have any questions, please review frequently asked questions
If you cannot find the information you need, please contact
Office of the Academic Senate Home Page | Site Map | Search the Academic Senate
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94143, (415) 476-9000
Copyright © 2014, The Regents of the University of California