## **SOD Admissions Committee Bylaws**

# Changes in Redline

#### 7.2.2 Predoctoral Admissions Committee

7.2.2.1 Membership. The Predoctoral Admissions Committee will consist of <u>at least</u> 13 members, including a Chair and a Vice Chair. Of that number, 10 or more Faculty members, proportional to the distribution of faculty in the School of Dentistry's departments, 3 dedicated readers and 2 student members. The Dean or his/her designate, the Associate Dean for Education and Director of Admissions will serve as ex-officio non-voting members.

During the academic years of July 1, 2017 through to June 30, 2020, the Admissions Committee has been pilot testing a new model. During that timeframe, the below bylaws (7.2.2. – 7.2.2.3) are being followed.

Cleaver, Alison 5/16/19 11:30 AM

Deleted: 2019

### 7.2.2.2 Functions

- Evaluate the records for all DDS applicants, and the DDS component of the DDS-PhD, to the school;
- b. Support the DDS applicant interview process and recruitment of faculty;
- c. Endorse the admit list from the IDP recruitment and selection process;
- d. Recommend to the Faculty Council the selection of students for DDS, IDP and DDS-PhD programs;
- e. Maintain a continuous record of predoctoral admissions
- f. Review and develop predoctoral admissions policies and procedures, and recommend changes to the Faculty Council.

#### 7.2.2.3 Terms

- Faculty members shall be appointed for an initial term of 3 years, renewable for additional years by the Chair of Faculty Council;
- b. Student members will be appointed for a term of 2 years, non-renewable;
- c. Dedicated readers will be hired by the Associate Dean of Student Affairs on an annual basis and approved by the SOD Faculty Council. Their hiring will come with an option to renew for future years based on their performance;
- d. Any member can be asked to step down by the Chair of the DDS Admissions Committee/Chair of Faculty Council.