



January 31, 2019

Sharmila Majumdar PhD, Chair Academic Planning & Budget UCSF Academic Senate 500 Parnassus Avenue, MUE 231 San Francisco, CA 94143

Re: APB Bylaws 112.A.2-4

Dear Chair Majumdar:

Pursuant to Division Bylaw 120(B)(5), the Rules & Jurisdiction Committee (RJC) in partnership with Senate Office Executive Director is performing an audit of all committee and council bylaws during the 2018-2019 academic year.

The Senate Office received a request to provide clarification on APB bylaws 112.A.2-4 in regards to current ex-officio members who aren't listed in the bylaws as well as whether they would be voting or non-voting.

## I. Bylaw 112.A.2:

- a. Upon review, RJC members noted that some current ex-officio members are not listed in the bylaws. RJC members support amending 112.A.2. to make it explicit that all ex-officio members on APB are non-voting. Removing the voting privileges of ex-officio members ensures the preeminence of the faculty vote and voice on this important Senate committee. It is the expertise of ex-officio members that's sought by their membership on this committee.
- a. Decision: RJC members recommend adding in AVC & Chief Information Officer, VC & Chief Financial Officer to the bylaws. These new ex-officio members should be non-voting.
- b. *Decision:* The School Faculty Council Chairs should also be added as non-voting exofficio members. They are currently listed on the webpage but not in the bylaws.
- c. Decision: The Vice Chair of the San Francisco Division of the Academic Senate. As an ex-officio member, who is also an officer of the Senate, s/he should retain voting rights on the committee. A parallel for this arrangement can be found at the systemwide Senate where both the systemwide chair and vice chair are voting ex-officio members on every Senate standing committee.

## II. Bylaw 112.A.3.:

a. This bylaw reads:

All members shall be voting members except when proscribed by Academic Senate Bylaws and Regulations.

b. RJC members found this bylaw unnecessary, as the prior bylaw specifies the voting status of ex-officio members. Plus unless otherwise stated in a specific committee or council, standing members are assumed to be voting. c. *Decision:* If APB members support this, then RJC recommends the deletion of current bylaw 112.A.3.

## III. Bylaw 112.A.4:

a. This particular bylaw states:

No standing Dean, Associate Dean, or Department Chair shall serve as a member of the Committee. However, individuals previously holding these positions may be Committee members. [Am 1 Sep 03]

- b. The San Francisco Division operates under Divisional bylaw 85B, which allows the Senate's Committee on Committees to appoint Associate Deans and others to committees as their discretion. Exceptions are made for Committees on Academic Freedom, Academic Personnel, and Privilege & Tenure – which prohibit Department Chairs from serving as voting members.
  - i. The Senate Office requested RJC opine on this discrepancy.
- c. *Decision:* Upon review, RJC members found no discrepancy and determined this bylaw should stay as currently authored.

Members of RJC request APB members review the proposed revisions (Attachment 1) and advise if they concur with the proposed, or if they have other recommendations.

RJC members appreciate the partnership of Senate committees and councils in clarifying bylaws, processes and policies so as to insure current language matches current practices.

Sincerely,

## **Committee on Rules & Jurisdiction**

Mark Seielstad, PhD, Vice Chair
Katherine Yang, PharmD, MPH, Vice Chair
Linda Angin, DDS
Spencer Behr, MD
Sheila Brear, BDS
Jahan Fahimi, MD, PhD
Mary Lynch, RN, MPH, MS, FAAN
Ami Parekh, MD, JD
Elaine Tseng, MD
Douglas Carlson, JD, Registrar, ex-officio
Jae-Woo Lee, MD, Parliamentarian and UCRJ Representative, ex-officio

Cc: Todd Giedt, Executive Director, Academic Senate Office, UCSF Division