



March 25, 2019

Mark Seielstad, PhD Rules & Jurisdiction Committee UCSF Academic Senate 500 Parnassus Avenue, MUE 231 San Francisco, CA 94143

Re: Inquiry on EQOP Bylaws 122.A.(1-6) and Proposed Revisions

Dear Chair Seielstad:

The Equal Opportunity Committee (EQOP) has reviewed the December 14th request from the Committee on Rules and Jurisdiction (R&J) to review the inquiry and proposed revisions (attachment 1) to EQOP Bylaws 122.A.1-6.

Members of EQOP reviewed the proposed bylaw changes at its meeting on January 14, 2019 and voted to approve R&J's recommendations. The Committee also provided the following responses regarding your requests for clarification.

- i. Bylaw 122.A.1: RJC questioned what was intended by "the Graduate Division" in this bylaw? As faculty are appointed within Schools, and not within the Graduate Division itself, does this bylaw refer to a preference for having a faculty representative who teaches within Graduate Division programs? RJC has also posed this question to the Senate's Committee on Committees to understand how this bylaw is interpreted by them.
 - a. **EQOP Response**: EQOP is unable to provide clarification on this point, as no relevant information could be found within committee archives.
- iv. **Bylaw 122.A.5:** RJC members noted the committee's membership includes appointees from both the Adjunct and Clinical series. RJC wondered if Clinical (122.A.5.) referred to HS Clinical, Clinical X, or, separately, if this ambiguity was deliberate?
 - a. **EQOP Response:** Based on the Committee's understanding, this language is intentionally broad so as to be inclusive of HS Clinical and/or Clinical X.

EQOP thanks the R&J Committee for its on-going work in maintaining and clarifying the Senate's bylaws and protocols.

Sincerely,

Equal Opportunity Committee

Jeanne Sevelius, PhD, Chair Christine Glastonbury, MD, Vice Chair Katja Brueckner, PhD Esther Chen, MD Kim Dau, RN, MS, CNM Lukejohn Day, MD Nancy Hessol, MSPH Joan Hilton, DSc, MPH Katherine Julian, MD Errol Lobo, MD, PhD

Cc: Todd Giedt, Executive Director, Academic Senate Office, UCSF Division