

Academic Senate senate.ucsf.edu

October 27, 2014

Jae Woo Lee, Chair Rules & Jurisdiction Committee UCSF Academic Senate 500 Parnassus Avenue, MUE 231 San Francisco, CA 94143

Re: Committee on Research Proposed Bylaw Revisions

Dear Chair Lee:

The Committee on Research (COR) from the San Francisco Division of the University of California Academic Senate has proposed the following two bylaw changes.

1. Committee members propose changing bylaw *135.A. Membership* to reduce membership from twenty-three members to fifteen members, in addition to the Chair and Vice Chair.

The Committee on Research historically was used to review and award research grants applied for through the UCSF Academic Senate Office. For those purposes, COR membership was kept at twenty-three members so as to have a full breadth of research expertise among grant reviewers.

In 2010-2011, COR became a partner of the Research Allocation Program (RAP) at UCSF. Since that time, the RAP mechanism has been used to process and award Academic Senate research grants. COR members have turned their focus toward fulfillment of bylaw 135.B.1. "[t]o advise...regarding policy governing allocation of research funds, and other matters pertaining to research in the Division."

A reduction in COR membership will further assist current members in consistently establishing quorum and allow more detailed focus on research policy and changes at the University and NIH and its impact on UCSF faculty.

2. Committee on Research members further propose eliminating bylaw 135.B.2. which states: "If the Committee membership does not include faculty with sufficient expertise to review research grant applications in any year, the Committee may establish ad hoc review subcommittees."

By joining RAP, COR has ceased reviewing grants within the committee meetings. This change has eliminated the need for this bylaw for Committee on Research.

We have included a redline of proposed COR bylaw revisions for your easy review. Do contact myself, Janet Myers, Chair, COR or Alison Cleaver, UCSF Academic Senate Interim Director with any questions. Thank you.

Sincerely,

Committee on Research

Janet Myers, PhD, MPH, Chair Stuart Gansky, MS, DrPH, Vice Chair Adam Carrico, PhD Janine Cataldo, PhD, RN Susan Chapman, RN, PhD Jing Cheng, MD, MS, PhD Carol Dawson-Rose, RN, PhD, FAAN Daniel Fried, PhD Lea Grinberg, MD, PhD John Gross, PhD Dieter Gruenert, PhD Tomoki Hashimoto, MD Megan Huchko, MD Donna Hudson, PhD (UC Fresno) John Imboden, MD Ajay Jain, PhD Alka Kanaya, MD

Stephen Massa, MD, PhD Dieter Meyerhoff, PhD Susanne Mueller, MD Edward Murphy, MD, MPH Srikantan Nagarajan, PhD Adam Renslo, PhD Suzaynn Schick, PhD Matthew Springer, PhD Leslie Wilson, PhD, MS, BS

Current Committee on Research (UCSF Academic Senate) Bylaws

135. Research Committee

- A. Membership: This Committee shall consist of <u>1523</u> members, in addition to the Chair and Vice Chair. The composition of the Committee should include Basic, Clinical, and Social/Behavioral scientists. The Chair is an ex officio member of the University Committee on Research Policy. If unable to serve on the University Committee on Research Policy, the Chair will recommend a designee to the Committee on Committees. [Am 9 Dec 81, 20 June 86, 1 Sep 03, 18 April 11]
 - B. Duties:
 - 1. To advise the Chancellor and inform the Division of budgetary need for support of research and research travel in the Division. It shall have the responsibility of making recommendations to the Chancellor regarding policy governing allocation of research funds, and other matters pertaining to research in the Division. It shall consider such applications for research funds as may be made by members of the Division and such applications for research travel grants for the purpose of attending meetings of learned societies as may be made by qualified applicants. It shall transmit to the Chancellor its recommendations concerning such applications.
 - 2. If the Committee membership does not include faculty with sufficient expertise to review research grant applications in any year, the Committee may establish ad hoc review subcommittees. [Am 1 Sep 03]
 - 3-2. To select a UCSF faculty member who has made a distinguished record in basic research, to deliver a lecture upon such topic as he or she sees fit. The member is to be designated the "Faculty Research Lecture-Basic Science" of the San Francisco Division. [Am 1 Sep 03, 18 Nov 04, 18 April 11]
 - 4-3. To select a UCSF faculty member who has made a distinguished record in clinical research, to deliver a lecture upon such topic as he or she sees fit. The member is to be designated the "Faculty Research Lecture-Clinical Science." [Am 1 Sep 03, 18 Nov 04, 18 April 11]
 - 5-4. To select a UCSF faculty member who has made a distinguished record in translational research, to deliver a lecture upon such topic as he or she sees fit. The member is to be designated the "Faculty Research Lecture-Translational Science." [Am 18 April 11]



Academic Senate senate.ucsf.edu

December 31, 2014

Janet Myers, PhD, MPH, Chair Committee on Research 500 Parnassus Avenue, MUE 231 San Francisco, CA 94143

Re: Committee on Research Proposed Bylaw Revisions

Dear Chair Myers:

Pursuant to Division Bylaw 120(B)(5), the Committee on Rules & Jurisdiction reviewed the request to reduce the membership of the Committee on Research (COR) (Bylaw 135.A.) submitted on October 27, 2014. It further reviewed the request to eliminate Bylaw 135.B.2. which specified the creation of ad hoc grant review committees if required research expertise was lacking upon COR members, which was submitted on October 27, 2014.

The Committee on Rules & Jurisdiction approves these modifications as proposed.

The proposed amendments must be approved by a vote of the Division, and subsequently approved by the University Committee on Rules & Jurisdiction before they may go into effect.

Sincerely,

Committee on Rules & Jurisdiction

Jae-Woo Lee, MD, Chair Catherine Waters, RN, PhD, FAAN, Vice Chair Gary Armitage, DDS Michele Bloomer, MD Marek Brzezinski, MD, PhD

Ex Officio Members Douglas Carlson, JD Anne Slavotinek, MD, PhD