

Academic Senate senate.ucsf.edu

## Communication from the Committee on Research Judith Moskowitz, PhD, MPH, Chair

May 11, 2012

Richard Schneider, PhD, Chair Committee on Library and Scholarly Communication Office of the Academic Senate, Box 0764

Re: Support for Open Access Policy at UCSF

Dear Chair Schneider,

The Committee on Research appreciated your attendance at our April 16, 2012 meeting to discuss the proposed Open Access Policy at UCSF.

The Committee appreciates the attention the Academic Senate's Committee on Library & Scholarly Communication has paid to this topic since its initial discussion in 2006. It recognizes that other academic institutions including Harvard University have developed and implemented Open Access Publication Policies based on UCSF's initial researchand plan.

Committee members support passage of the proposed policy at UCSF. We further recommend that library resources be directed to the development of a funding pool to support faculty publishing in Open Access journals.

Sincerely,

## **Committee on Research**

Judith Moskowitz, PhD, MPH, Chair (Osher Center for Integrative Medicine) Srikantan Nagarajan, PhD, Vice Chair, Professor in Residence (Radiology) Dorie Apollonio, PhD (Clinical Pharmacy) Laura Dunn, MD (Psychiatry) Diana Foster, PhD (Obstetrics, Gynecology and Reproductive Sciences) Stuart Gansky, MS, DPH (Preventive & Restorative Dental Sciences) Judith Hahn, PhD, MA (Medicine) Robert Hendren, DO (Psychiatry) Sunita Ho, MS, PhD (Preventive & Restorative **Dental Sciences**) Gary Humfleet. PhD (Psychiatry) Laura Julian, PhD (Rheumatology) Celia Kaplan, DPH (General Internal Medicine)

Susan Kools, RN, PhD, FAAN (Family Health Care Nursing) Kirby Lee, PharmD (Clinical Pharmacy) Wu Li, PhD (Orofacial Sciences) Ralph Marcucio, PhD (Orthopaedic Surgery) Janet Myers, PhD, MPH (Medicine/CAPS) Vineeta Singh, MD (Neurology) Michael West, MD, PhD (Surgery) Duan Xu, PhD (Radiology)