Home > Academic Senate Awards > Distinguished Clinical Research Lecture

Academic Senate's Ninth Annual
Distinguished Clinical Research Lecture

UCSF Academic Senate's Ninth Annual Distinguished Clinical Research Lecturer Awarded to Walter L. Miller, MD

Walter L Miller, MD
The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the selection of Walter L. Miller, MD as recipient of the Ninth Annual Distinguished Clinical Research Lectureship for his preeminence in the study of the molecular biology of human steroid hormone biosynthesis and its disorders causing the congential adrenal hyperplasias. Dr. Miller has made long-standing and outstanding academic contributions in the area of translational research in endocrinology and the study of steroidogenesis. Current broad research projects include the structure and function of the steroidogenic acute regulatory (StAR) protein, the post-translational regulation of androgen synthesis, and the nature of human P450 oxidoreductase deficiency, which Dr. Miller's group discovered in 2004.

Dr. Miller received his S.B degree from M.I.T. in 1965 and his M.D. from Duke University in 1970. He came to UCSF in 1974, joined the faculty in 1978 and is currently a Professor in the Department of Pediatrics, the Metabolic Research Unit and the Center for Reproductive Sciences, a member of the Biomedical Sciences Graduate Program and the Program in Human Genetics, and Chief of the Division of Endocrinology. He is also the Director of UCSF's National Institutes of Health-supported Pediatric Endocrinology Training Program, which offers a wide variety of fellowship opportunities, research programs and clinical services

The Ninth Annual Distinguished Clinical Research Lecture will take place on Tuesday, September 29, 2009 at 3:30pm in Cole Hall and will be broadcast to other UCSF sites as availability permits. Refreshments will be provided. The lecture is open to the campus community and the general public.
Since 2001, this award has been bestowed on an individual member of the UCSF faculty with outstanding achievements in clinical research. Nominations are made by UCSF faculty, who consider the clinical research contributions of their colleagues and submit nominations for this prestigious award to the Academic Senate Committee on Research. Each year, the Committee on Research selects the recipient of this award.

A list of the past recipients of the award can be viewed at: http://senate.ucsf.edu/0-awards/DCRL-pastrecipients.html

The 9th annual Distinguished Clinical Research Lecture
Tuesday, September 29, 2009
3:30 to 5:00 pm in Cole Hall.


Alison Cleaver, (415) 476-3808

Past Recipients
Last Webpage Update: 12/7/15

University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94143, (415) 476-9000
The Regents of the University of California