The 2008-2009 Distinction in Teaching Award Recipients

Since 1951, the San Francisco campus has annually recognized exceptional Senate faculty members who have shown distinction in teaching. In 2002, eligibility for this award was expanded to include faculty in the Health Sciences Clinical and Adjunct series. UCSF faculty in the Ladder Rank, In Residence, Clinical X, Health Sciences Clinical and Adjunct series who have appointments at 50% or greater time are eligible for the Distinction in Teaching Award in two categories: Category One is for faculty at UCSF for five years or fewer and Category Two is for UCSF faculty at UCSF more than five years.

Each recipient of the DIT Award will be recognized by the Chancellor and the Academic Senate in separate ceremonies during Founders Week. The Chancellor will present each recipient with a plaque at the Founders Day banquet. The Academic Senate will present each recipient with an honorarium and framed certificate at the Distinction in Teaching Award Ceremony scheduled to take place on April 8, 2008 in Cole Hall at 12:00 noon.

The Distinction in Teaching Award Selection Committee, appointed by the Committee on Academic Personnel, is comprised of students and faculty from each School.

The Academic Senate is pleased to announce the recipients of the 2008-2009 UCSF Academic Senate Distinction in Teaching Awards.  This award is given in two categories: Category 1 recognizes distinction in teaching for faculty at UCSF five years or fewer, and Category 2 recognizes distinction in teaching for faculty at UCSF for more than five years.  To select each year’s recipients, the Academic Senate Committee on Academic Personnel designates a selection committee comprised of faculty and student representatives from all four schools. 

For Category 1, the Distinction in Teaching Award Selection Committee recognizes the outstanding teaching of Conan MacDougall, PharmD, MAS, BCPS, Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy, School of Pharmacy. 

For Category 2, the Distinction in Teaching Award Selection Committee recognizes the distinguished teaching of  Barbara Drew, RN, PhD,  FAAN, Professor in the Department of Physiological Nursing, School of Nursing.  Dr. Drew also has a secondary appointment as a Health Sciences Clinical Professor in the division of Cardiology in the Department of Medicine in the School of Medicine. 

Conan MacDougall, PharmD, MAS, BCPS

Conan MacDougall
Conan MacDougall is an Assistant Professor of Clinical Pharmacy in the Department of Clinical Pharmacy at the University of California, San Francisco. He provides clinical service to the Infectious Diseases Consult Service at UCSF Medical Center and participates in UCSF's antimicrobial management program. His research interests include the pharmacoepidemiology of antimicrobial use in hospitals and communities, associations between antimicrobial use and resistance, and the clinical use of antifungal agents. Dr. MacDougall co-coordinates the clinical pharmacy therapeutics course in infectious diseases and oncology, precepts students on the infectious diseases rotation, and lectures on antimicrobial agent pharmacology.

Barbara Drew, RN, PhD, FAAN

Barbara Drew
Dr. Barbara Drew is a Professor of Nursing and Clinical Professor of Medicine at the University of California, San Francisco (UCSF). She received her initial nursing diploma in 1968 and was hired to help establish the first Coronary Care Unit (CCU) at Evanston Hospital in Evanston, IL. Over the subsequent 20 years, she served in a variety of roles in CCUs in Illinois and California including staff nurse, nurse manager and clinical nurse specialist. Dr. Drew earned her Masters of Science degree from UCSF in 1980 in Cardiovascular Nursing. She earned a Doctorate of Philosophy degree in nursing from UCSF and then joined the faculty as an Assistant Professor in 1990.  Dr. Drew is a fellow of the American Academy of Nursing and the American Heart Association's Council on Cardiovascular Nursing. 

The primary goal of Dr. Drew's program of research has been to improve ECG monitoring techniques and clinical practices in hospital and pre-hospital settings for more accurate diagnosis of cardiac arrhythmias, myocardial ischemia, and drug-induced prolonged QT syndrome.  She founded the ECG Monitoring Research Laboratory in the School of Nursing and has mentored numerous graduate students pursuing studies in the field of electrocardiology. Her research has been consistently funded by the National Institutes of Health. Her studies have shaped the development of commercial cardiac monitors, including the introduction of multi-lead ECG monitoring, use of reduced lead sets, ST-segment ischemia monitoring, QT interval monitoring, and pre-hospital mobile phone transmitted ECGs.

In 2004, Dr. Drew chaired the American Heart Association’s expert writing group that published “Practice Standards for ECG Monitoring in Hospital Settings.” This practice standard was the first to recommend “best practices” for arrhythmia, ischemia, and QT interval monitoring. Dr. Drew was awarded the “Clinical Article of the Year” by the American Heart Association in 2005 for this scientific statement. In 2005, she became the first woman and first nurse to be elected President of the International Society of Computerized Electrocardiology.

Dr. Drew has taught ECG interpretation to medical students, residents, and nursing students at UCSF for 26 years. Her lectures are known for their relevance to clinical practice and for her underwater photography. Dr. Drew resides in San Francisco with her husband, Dr. Denis Drew.

Distinction In Teaching Awards Ceremony

Recipients of the Academic Senate Distinction In Teaching Awards will be honored in a ceremony to take place at noon in Cole Hall on April 8, 2009.  A light lunch and refreshments will be served.  All students, faculty, staff, colleagues, as well as friends and family of the recipients are welcome. 

The Distinction in Teaching Award Ceremony will be held on
Wednesday, April 8, 2009 at 12:00 noon in Cole Hall.


Past Recipients

Wilson Hardcastle 476-4245

University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA 94143, (415) 476-9000
The Regents of the University of California