

Academic Senate senate.ucsf.edu

Office of the Academic Senate

500 Parnassus Ave, MUE 230 San Francisco, CA 94143-0764 Campus Box 0764 tel: 415/514-2696 fax: 415/514-3844

David Gardner, MD, Chair Elena Fuentes-Afflick, MD, MPH, Vice Chair Mary J. Malloy, MD, Secretary Jean Olson, MD, Parliamentarian May 16, 2008

J. Michael Bishop, MD Chancellor Arthur and Toni Rembe Rock Distinguished Professor University Professor 513 Parnassus Avenue, S 126 San Francisco, CA 94143-0402

Re: Academic Senate Approval of the Proposal for the Department of Emergency Medicine

Dear Chancellor Bishop:

The faculty of the UCSF Academic Senate have voted to approve the proposal for the Department of Emergency Medicine. 204 Senate members participated in the vote with 184 (90%) members voting to endorse the proposal, 16 members (8%) voting against the proposal and four members (2%) abstaining from the vote.

Per the Universitywide Review Processes for Academic Programs, Academic Units and Research Units III. A. for actions involving departments (http://www.ucop.edu/acadaff/accomp/), this letter communicates the Academic Senate's favorable review of the proposal and endorsement of the creation of a new Department of Emergency Medicine at UCSF.

Should you have any questions or need further information, please do not hesitate to contact me.

Sincerely,

David Gardner, MD

Chair, UCSF Academic Senate

CC: Sam Hawgood, MBBS, Interim Dean, School of Medicine Michael Callaham, MD, Chief, Division of Emergency Medicine